Are Brass Knuckles Illegal in Texas? Can you have them in your car?
In Texas, laws regarding weapons are generally more lenient than in other parts of the country. According to Chapter 46 of the Texas Penal Code, it is against the law to possess, manufacture, repair or transport brass knuckles. This is generally regarded as a third degree felony, but it may be reduced in some cases to a class A misdemeanor.
Need a criminal attorney in Texas? Call (281) 853-8537.
The Texas Penal Code states that brass knuckles are any device that has finger guards or rings that are made of any hard substance, and is intended to inflict serious bodily harm or death. When used as intended, brass knuckles can cause broken bones and teeth, concussions and eye and facial injuries.
Is It Illegal to Own or Possess Brass Knuckles?
Usually, brass knuckles are used to hit another person with their fist. In some situations, possessing brass knuckles can be another charge on top of assault or assault with a deadly weapon.
Some defendants may purchase brass knuckles thinking that they are paperweights or jewelry. If you purchased brass knuckles without your knowledge, you may not have known that possessing them is against Texas law. You would need a defense attorney to work with you if you face arrest. Also, if you were unaware of the Texas law and purchased knuckles from a dealer, you also will want to be represented by a criminal defense attorney.
If you are a juvenile and you have been charged with possession of brass knuckles, you could be disqualified from entering the First Offender deferred disposition program that is administered by the juvenile courts. If the juvenile is caught with brass knuckles in school, the principal is required to contact the police department. Juveniles charged with this serious offense also should be represented by a criminal defense lawyer.
See also…Deferred Adjudication
See also…Minor in Possession Laws
Call (281) 853-8537
Being charged with use or possession of brass knuckles is serious business in Texas. Possessing brass knuckles can in the worst case be a third degree felony with a prison term of two to 10 years, and a maximum fine of $10,000. If it is charged as a misdemeanor, you still can receive up to a year in jail and a fine of $4000. We offer free consultations.