Are Switch Blades Illegal in Texas – Knife Laws 2017
It has been illegal since the 1950s to possess or use a switchblade in Texas. Carrying or using a switchblade in the past was a class A misdemeanor. People convicted for using or carrying a switchblade could receive a fine as high as $4000 and weapon confiscation. The judge also could give the person up to one year in county jail. But…
Times Have Changed
Texas passed new laws in 2013 under Governor Perry governing switchblades
[2017 UPDATE ] – Tx knife laws were revised in 2017
No specific designs are restricted after the revision. Switchblades, Bowie knives, and others were restricted and now are not. The focus of Texas law is on three different things: the age of the party carrying the knife, blades 5.5 inches or longer, and certain locations. Knives with blades 5.5 inches or more are called “location-specific knives” in the TPC. –https://www.akti.org/state-knife-laws/texas/
Switchblades are no longer considered to be illegal. Individuals may not be punished for carrying or using them. You also cannot be arrested for manufacturing a switchblade. Nor can you be penalized for repairing, selling or repairing a switchblade. All of these actions were illegal before but are no longer. The Texas statute that covers these changes is HB 1862. That law preempts various local knife ordinances that have more restrictions. The law ensures that the repeal on switchblades is the law throughout the state.
Under current Texas law, adults and juveniles may carry a knife with a blade less than 5.5 inches anywhere. Adults 18 and older can carry a knife with a blade 5.5 inches or longer in most places. Note that some of the places where you cannot carry a long bladed knife are (similar to the Tx Open Carry Laws):
- Education institutions
- Passenger transportation of a private or public schools
- Businesses earning more than 51% of their cash flow from alcohol sales
- Government courts and court offices
However, other types of weapons and knives still are illegal in this state. Using or possessing them can result in serious punishments. To carry a handgun, you are required to have a permit. You also may not possess bombs, rockets or machine guns.
You also may be punished for possessing a zip gun, shotgun with a barrel less than 18 inches long, or brass knuckles. Further, you may not possess a rifle or shotgun that has been altered so that it is under 26 inches in length. Possession of all these weapons other than brass knuckles is a third degree felony. The punishment for conviction is from two to 10 years in prison and a fine as high as $10,000.
Criminal Defense (713) 224-4000
If you are facing a weapon possession charge, it is important to quickly talk to a criminal defense attorney. It is unwise to ever deal with law enforcement or the criminal justice system without an attorney protecting your legal rights. The law changes also have led to confusion in some jurisdictions, and it is possible for a person to be wrongly charged by local police.