Call (713) 224-4000 today to speak to an attorney who focuses on DWI defense.
Consequences of a DWI Conviction in Texas
A conviction for Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) can be extremely stressful, and you should know the facts of your charge.
In recent years, Texas has cracked down on those convicted of DWI and will enforce strict penalties for this crime.
There are a host of factors that can influence the specific penalty resulting from a DWI conviction, for example your previous history with DWI and the level of your blood alcohol content when you are arrested, but generally the penalties for DWI are as follows:
- An initial DWI offense may result in a fine of up to $2,000 along with a jail term of 72 hours all the way up to 180 days. You may also be ordered to install an ignition interlock device, a device that prevents you from starting your car if alcohol is detected in your breath, and you may face a suspension of your driver’s license for a maximum of two years.
- For repeat DWI offenders, the penalties become increasingly severe. The maximum fine for a second offense rises to a maximum of $4,000, and the possible jail term ranges from a month to a year. Once again, your license may be suspended for a period of up to two years.
- Three-time DWI offenders may face a fine of up to $10,000, along with a jail term of two to ten years, and possible suspension of your license for two years.
Katy, TX DUI Attorney | (713) 224-4000
The above guidelines apply to DWI cases where no one is injured. The State of Texas has created additional categories of DWI offenses with severely increased penalties. These offenses range from intoxication assault, intoxication manslaughter and DWI with a child under 15 years old in the vehicle through such enhanced offenses as causing injury to a firefighter, police officer or other emergency medical personnel.
There are also additional penalties and factors to consider if you are convicted of a DWI as the holder of a commercial driver’s license (CDL).
Texas DWI consequences are severe, and without an experienced attorney to guide you through the maze of regulations and statutes, it can feel like dealing with a DWI is impossible.
However, you can defeat a TX drunk driving charge. Call Daniel Lazarine at (713) 224-4000 for an answer to any questions you may have regarding a DWI conviction and what steps you can take to get your life back to normal if you’ve been convicted of a DWI.