DWLI Texas | Driving While License Invalid
What is Driving While License Suspended or Driving While License Invalid?
Criminal Attorney Explains – (281) 853-8537.
When an individual possesses a Texas driver’s license and financial responsibility (car insurance) for his vehicle, he is able to drive a properly registered and inspected vehicle on our roads and highways. As long as that individual obeys the rules of the road and an officer does not otherwise have a legally sufficient reason to stop him, that person should be able to drive freely without interruption.
However, if that person’s driver’s license gets suspended for a period of time or is invalid, then that person is no longer authorized to operate a motor vehicle on public roadways.
A suspended license can be incredibly difficult to manage in Texas – specifically the Greater Houston Area – as public transportation often is unreliable and inconvenient. But if a person drives a motor vehicle while his license is suspended, or when his license is invalid, then he can be issued a citation or arrested and taken to jail.
Penalties for DWLS / DWLI
Operating a vehicle without a valid license – either because the license is suspended or invalid at that time – is a Class C Misdemeanor which is punishable by up to a $500 fine. JP and municipal courts sometimes impose additional penalties for these offenses, included community service. An officer may arrest an individual for this violation or he may simply issue a citation.
If an individual operates a vehicle without a valid license and that person has been previously convicted of DWLS/DWLI, it is a Class B Misdemeanor which is punishable by up to 180 days in jail and a $2,000 fine, or both. This means that person can be arrested and taken to jail.
Similarly, if a person operates a motor vehicle without a valid license and does not have financial responsibility (read: car insurance) for that vehicle at that same time, it is a Class B Misdemeanor. That person can be arrested and taken to jail.
Finally, if a person operates a vehicle without a valid license and that person has been previously convicted of DWI, Intoxication Assault/Manslaughter, then it is a Class B Misdemeanor. That person can be arrested and taken to jail.
Why Does a Driver’s License Get Suspended?
Driver’s licenses get suspended for a variety of reasons. Here are a few of the most common ones:
Conviction for a Drug offense. This includes possession of marijuana, possession of a dangerous drug, and possession of a controlled substance, among others. It does not matter if a vehicle was involved in the offense. The law says that if convicted of almost any type of drug offense, the person’s license will be suspended.
Suspension related to the offense of Driving While Intoxicated. If the person refuses to give a breath/blood test, or agrees to give a test but is over 0.08, then his license will be suspended for a period of time. In certain circumstances, a conviction for DWI can also result in a license suspension.
Points against Driver’s License
Here, if someone is convicted of numerous traffic violations, including DWLS citations, eventually DPS will begin to suspend the license.
State surcharge fees come along with almost all driver’s license suspensions. If these fees are not paid, the license will be invalid even when the suspension has concluded. It is important to make arrangements with DPS for these fees.
Contact Us | DWLI Texas Lawyer
If you have any questions about DWLI or DWLS, contact Texas Attorney immediately at (281) 853-8537.